Christian Retailing

James Rubart wins Christy Award Book of the Year Print Email
Written by Christine D. Johnson   
Tuesday, 28 June 2016 09:00 AM America/New_York

FiveTimesIMetMyselfThe 2016 Christy Award winners were announced Monday in a much more understated fashion than at the usual gala during the International Christian Retail Show (ICRS). Instead, the awards honoring and promoting excellence in Christian fiction were announced via video online at

The winners will be featured on Moody Radio's "Chris Fabry Live!" this Friday, July 1. Hosted by Fabry, a novelist who has won multiple Christy Awards himself, the show is heard on over 225 Moody radio stations and streamed live at, 2-4 p.m. CDT.

The 2016 Christy Award winners are as follows:

Book of the Year and Visionary: The Five Times I Met Myself by James L. Rubart (Thomas Nelson, a division of HarperCollins Christian Publishing)

Contemporary: The Sea Keeper’s Daughters by Lisa Wingate (Tyndale House Publishers)

Contemporary Romance/Suspense: The Wedding Chapel by Rachel Hauck (Zondervan, a division of HarperCollins Christian Publishing)

Contemporary Series: Crazy Little Thing Called Love by Beth K. Vogt (Howard Books)

First Novel: Irish Meadows by Susan Anne Mason (Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group)

Historical: Secrets She Kept by Cathy Gohlke (Tyndale House Publishers)

Historical Romance: Luther and Katharina by Jody Hedlund (WaterBrook)

Suspense: Twisted Innocence by Terri Blackstock (Zondervan, a division of HarperCollins Christian Publishing)

Young Adult: The Choosing by Rachelle Dekker (Tyndale House Publishers)