Christian Retailing

Lecrae, Hillsong United among top GMA Dove Awards nominees Print Email
Written by Christine D. Johnson   
Wednesday, 13 August 2014 02:54 PM America/New_York

JackiePatillo-TobyMac-GettyImagesforDoveAwards-webThe Gospel Music Association (GMA) announced the nominees for the 45th Annual GMA Dove Awards today at Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena in Nashville. Producer-songwriter Wayne Haun led the nominations with 12, and artists Hillsong United, Lecrae, Mandisa and Matt Maher came away with five nominations each.

The awards show honoring the winners will take place Tuesday, Oct. 7, in the same arena at 6:30 p.m. CT (7:30 ET). Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) will air the show, reaching more than 100 million homes in the U.S. along with its global and multi-platform distribution.

Jackie Patillo, executive director of the Gospel Music Association, offered her congratulations to the nominees.

“The Doves celebrate the impact of all genres of gospel music, recognizing talent, ministry and outstanding performances,” Patillo said. “It is an honor and a privilege to once again have Lipscomb University as our host for gospel music’s biggest event of the year. Dr. Lowry [Lipscomb president] and his staff work diligently alongside us to create an event that has many moving parts.”

Patillo also reflected on GMA’s new partnership with TBN.

“To be announcing that the 45th Annual GMA Dove Awards have a new home with TBN generates a lot of excitement for our organization,” she said. “Not only do our organizations align in mission, but TBN will get the show and our music out to a greater audience than ever before. With their global and multi-platform-enabled technology, virtually everyone, anywhere will be able to watch this year’s show.”

Matthew Crouch, the network’s vice president, believes that TBN has much to offer the Dove Awards.

“Once again the GMA Dove Awards will bring together the best and brightest singers, songwriters, musicians and professionals in gospel and Christian music,” Crouch said. “And TBN, the leader in Christian television and America's most-watched faith channel, is honored to serve as the exclusive broadcast host for this night of unforgettable and life-changing music.”

Nominees in 20 of the 42 categories were revealed during the Aug. 13 news conference. Artist of the Year nominees were Casting Crowns, Hillsong United, Lecrae, Mandisa, Needtobreathe and Switchfoot, while New Artist of the Year nominees were 1 Girl Nation, Andy Mineo, Ellie Holcomb, Hillsong Young & Free and Love & The Outcome.

Song of the Year nominees were “Fix My Eyes,” For King & Country, writers Seth Mosley, Joel Smallbone and Luke Smallbone; “Hello My Name Is,” artist and writer Matthew West; “Hurricane,” Natalie Grant, writers Grant, Matt Bronleewe and Cindy Morgan; “I Can Trust Him,” The Perrys, writers Haun and Joel Lindsey; “Lord I Need You,” Matt Maher, writers Maher, Christy Nockels, Daniel Carson, Jesse Reeves and Kristian Stanfill; “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail),” Hillsong United, writers Matt Crocker, Joel Houston and Salomon Ligthelm; “Overcomer” Mandisa, writers David Garcia, Christopher Stevens and Ben Glover; “Revival,” Karen Peck and New River, writers Kenna Turner West, Karen Peck Gooch and Don Poythress; “Say Amen,” Brian Free & Assurance, writers Jason Cox, Michael Farren and Kenna Turner West; and “That’s Why,” Ernie Haase and Signature Sound, writers Haase, Haun and Joel Lindsey.

Brandon Heath, Flame, Gordon Mote, KB, Jonathan McReynolds, Karen Peck, Love & The Outcome, Natalie Grant, Tasha Cobbs, TobyMac and Wayne Haun delivered the news during today’s press conference. Salem Communication’s Doug Griffin from 94FM The Fish and Caroline Lusk from CCM Magazine helped welcome participating artists.

Today’s announcement also was streamed live on, and will live-stream the red carpet, pre-telecast and other nonbroadcast show activities, including never-before-seen backstage access.

Voting in the awards’ 42 categories will run Aug. 26-Sept. 9 with tabulations certified by the independent accounting firm Kraft CPAs PLLC.

For the full list of nominees, go to