Christian Retailing

Abingdon Press wins IndieFab awards Print Email
Written by Christine D. Johnson   
Thursday, 10 July 2014 12:13 PM America/New_York

CalledToTheFire-webAbingdon Press was honored by the 2013 Foreword Reviews’ IndieFab Book of the Year Awards with three awards and an honorable mention recognition. The awards were judged by a select group of librarians and booksellers from around the country and announced at the American Library Association Annual Conference in Las Vegas in June.

The publisher garnered top honor Gold awards for Consider the Birds: A Provocative Guide to Birds of the Bible by Debbie Blue in the Adult Nonfiction: Religion category and An Illustrated Guide to the Holy Land for Tour Groups, Students, and Pilgrims by Lamontte M. Luker in the Adult Nonfiction: Travel Guides category. Called to the Fire: A Witness for God in Mississippi: The Story of Dr. Charles Johnson by Chet Bush won Bronze in the Adult Nonfiction: Biography category. The awards also recognized When the Morning Glory Blooms by Cynthia Ruchti with an Honorable Mention award in the Adult Fiction: Religious category.

“To be recognized by librarians and booksellers for the literary contributions Abingdon Press is making is a great honor and we are grateful to them,” said Tamara Crabtree, executive director, marketing and sales at Abingdon Press. “Thanks also to the Foreword Reviews team for offering a platform to celebrate the work of indie authors and publishers.”

Foreword’s IndieFab Book of the Year Awards program was created to discover distinctive books from the indie publishing community across a number of genres. Representing hundreds of independent and university presses of all sizes, IndieFab winners were selected after months of editorial deliberation over more than 1,500 entries in 60 categories. Gold, Silver, Bronze, and Honorable Mention awards, as well as Editor’s Choice Prizes for Fiction and Nonfiction, were determined by a panel of librarians and booksellers in conjunction with Foreword’s editorial staff.

To see the Religious (Adult Fiction) winners, click on the following link:

For the Religion (Adult Nonfiction) winners, go to: