Christian Retailing

The Isaacs clean up at Absolutely Gospel Music Awards Print Email
Written by Jeremy Burns   
Monday, 21 April 2014 04:44 PM America/New_York

AbsolutelyGospelThe Isaacs won five awards at the 2014 Absolutely Gospel Music (AGM) Awards, the most of any group or individual. The awards were presented April 15 at a concert celebration in Smyrna, Tenn.

The group was awarded its second consecutive Mixed Group of the Year title and first-ever Best Live Performer. Ben Isaacs took home Producer of the Year (Artist) while songwriting siblings Becky Isaacs Bowman and Sonya Isaacs won Songwriter of the Year (Artist). Bowman was also recognized as Musician of the Year.

“We are just ecstatic with this year’s program,” said Deon Unthank of “Though we had to fight through some technical issues with sound and our live feed at the beginning of the show, we still had a record-setting number of viewers online and in attendance at the live show. We already are making big plans for next year’s celebration!” 

Karen Peck & New River took home three awards, including its third consecutive Song of the Year title, this time for the No. 1 hit “Revival”. The group also won Album of the Year for Revival (Daywind Records/Word Distribution) as well as Progressive Song of the Year (also for “Revival”).

Songwriter Kenna West was the most-awarded individual of the night, winning Song of the Year and Progressive Song of the Year (for co-writing “Revival” with Karen Peck Gooch and Don Poythress) and Country Song of the Year (for co-writing “Voice In the Desert” with Lee Black and Jason Cox).

Additional artists and individuals who won multiple awards throughout the evening include the Bowling Family, Sisters, Don Poythress, Wayne Haun, Dianne Wilkinson, Karen Peck Gooch and Jeff Easter.

The 2014 Pacesetter Award was given to the Write About Jesus Conference—a songwriting retreat hosted by celebrated songwriter Sue C. Smith.

Kathy Crabb Hannah won the Susan Unthank Memorial Award. This award honors women who have worked in this field of music and made a resounding impact on Southern gospel music. Hannah was awarded the Pacesetter Award in 2005 for her work as manager of the Crabb Family.

The event was hosted by Karen Peck Gooch (of Karen Peck & New River) and Kelly Nelon Clark (of The Nelons). The evening featured performances by the Isaacs, Karen Peck & New River, Tribute Quartet, The Nelons, Jeff & Sheri Easter, the Sneed Family, the Browders, the Bowling Family, Adam Crabb, Beyond the Ashes, Jim & Melissa Brady, the Freemans and songwriters Kenna West, Sue C. Smith and Jason Cox. The evening concluded with a special multi-artist musical tribute to the Easter Brothers that was hosted by Jeff Easter and featured special guests Dailey & Vincent.

For a full list of winners, click here.