Christian Retailing

Take 6, dcTalk to perform at Gospel Music Association event Print Email
Written by Jeremy Burns   
Friday, 04 April 2014 12:38 PM America/New_York

GMAHallOfFame-webThe Gospel Music Association (GMA) Foundation recently announced this year’s Hall of Fame inductees and honorees for the Hall of Fame induction and inaugural GMA Honors celebration. To be held April 29 at Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena in Nashville, the ceremony will feature Hall of Fame inductees, including Brown Bannister, Gaither Vocal Band, Rich Mullins and Take 6, as well as Honors recipients such as Dr. Bobby Jones, Don Moen, Michael Guido, Show Hope and World Vision.

“We’re excited about this opportunity to raise awareness for the legacy of gospel music,” said GMA Executive Director Jackie Patillo. “Each of these inductees or honorees has made a definitive mark on the fabric of our musical tapestry.”

GMA also announced additional talent for the event to include a special performance by Take 6 with all members, past and present, for the first time ever as a celebration of the group’s 25th anniversary and of its Hall of Fame induction. Other special guests scheduled to appear include dcTalk (TobyMac, Michael Tait and Kevin Max), Steven Curtis Chapman, Amy Grant, Michael W. Smith, David Crowder, Earnest Pugh, Ellie Bannister Holcomb, Kirk Whalum and Lenny LeBlanc. Jay Sekulow, chief counsel of the American Center for Law and Justice, talk show personality and FOX News commentator will host the evening’s program.

“While each [inductee and honoree] has different gifts and has contributed in different ways, all of their stories highlight God’s faithfulness,” Patillo added. “We’ll be able to celebrate this through GMA Honors with some very special friends and truly inspiring performances.”

GMA also announced “Love Your Country. Vote. Faith, Family and Freedom Tour” as this year’s presenting sponsor. Produced by RLM/Mission Management and launching later this year, the tour experience will bring together country and gospel artists to encourage Americans to vote.