Christian Retailing

Semifinalists set for expanded Inspirational Country Music Awards Print Email
Written by Eric Tiansay   
Thursday, 18 July 2013 02:29 PM America/New_York

The semifinalists have been announced for the 19th Annual Inspirational Country Music (ICM) Awards, to be held Oct. 24 at the Opryland's Two Rivers in Nashville.

The event—featuring the added categories of Mainstream Country Male, Mainstream Country Female and Mainstream Country Group/Duo—is part of the 2013 ICM Faith, Family and Country Convention, set for Oct 20-24 at Opryland.

"At this time, more and more mainstream artists are releasing positive-message songs that bring faith, family and country into their music and we felt it to be appropriate to recognize these artists for their efforts in bringing such a message to their audience," said ICM Executive Director Jason Higgins.

In the running for Mainstream Country Male Artist are Alan Jackson, Andy Griggs, Craig Morgan, Darius Rucker, John Berry, Josh Turner, Lee Brice, Scotty McCreery, Tim McGraw and Vince Gill.

Semi-finalists for Mainstream Country Female Artist are Carrie Underwood, Dolly Parton, Faith Hill, Gwen Sebastian, Jamie O'Neal, Lauren Alaina, Martina McBride, Rachel Holder, Reba McEntire and Sara Evans.

Those vying for Mainstream Country Group/Duo are Diamond Rio, Joey+Rory, Lady Antebellum, Lonestar, Marty Raybon & Full Circle, Oak Ridge Boys, Rascal Flatts, The Farm, The Henningsens and Thompson Square.

In the running for Mainstream Inspirational Country Song are "Changed" by Rascal Flatts; "Be Grateful" by The Farm; "Eighteen Inches" by Lauren Alaina; "Every Storm Runs Out of Rain" by Gary Allan; "I Drive Your Truck" by Lee Brice; "Met Him in a Motel Room" by Gwen Sebastian; "Old King James" by Scotty McCreery; "See You Again" by Carrie Underwood; "Touchdown Jesus" by Tim McGraw; and "True Believers" by Darius Rucker.

To see all of the semifinalists, go to