Christian Retailing

Christian fiction group announces Carol Award winners Print Email
Written by Eric Tiansay   
Tuesday, 25 September 2012 10:20 AM America/New_York

American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) has announced the winners of the Carol Awards for fiction at its conference gala in Dallas. Michael Hyatt, former chairman and CEO of Thomas Nelson, was keynote speaker at the Sept. 22 event that honored titles from a number of publishers, including Thomas Nelson and Zondervan—both now under the HarperCollins umbrella—and Baker Publishing Group.

Drawing from Eccl. 7:10, Hyatt encouraged attendees to lean into the changes in the publishing world.

"You resist the changes and hope we'll go back to the old days," Hyatt said to the ACFW conference audience and the publishing industry it represented, "but you won't go as far as if you lean into the change."

The Carol Award—formerly the ACFW's Book of the Year Award and renamed to honor Christian fiction pioneer editor Carol Johnson—honors the highest achievement for published authors of Christian fiction.

The 2012 winners were:

HarperCollins: Debut Novel: Fairer Than Morning by Rosslyn Elliott (Thomas Nelson); Long Historical: Fairer Than Morning by Rosslyn Elliott (Thomas Nelson); Romantic Suspense: Lonestar Angel by Colleen Coble (Thomas Nelson); Mystery: Falling to Pieces: A Shipshewana Amish Mystery by Vannetta Chapman (Zondervan); Young Adult: The Merchant's Daughter by Melanie Dickerson (Zondervan).

Baker Publishing Group: Long Contemporary: The Search by Suzanne Woods Fisher (Revell); Short Historical: The Deepest Waters by Dan Walsh (Revell); Long Historical Romance: To Win Her Heart by Karen Witemeyer (Bethany House).

Tyndale House Publishers: Long Contemporary Romance: My Foolish Heart by Susan May Warren.

Barbour Publishing: Novellas: An Accidental Christmas from A Biltmore Christmas by Diane T. Ashley/Aaron McCarver.

Harlequin: Short Contemporary: Lakeside Reunion by Lisa Jordan (Love Inspired); Short Contemporary Suspense: Nightwatch by Valerie Hansen (Love Inspired Suspense).

Marcher Lord Press: Speculative Fiction: Broken Sight by Steve Rzasa.

B&H Books: Suspense/Thriller: Fallen Angel by Major Jeff Struecker/Alton Gansky.

Penguin Group (USA): Women's Fiction: Dandelion Summer by Lisa Wingate (Penguin Praise/Berkley).

Other awards presented were: Lifetime Achievement Award: Allen Arnold; Editor of the Year: Julee Schwarzburg; Agent of the Year: Nicole Resciniti (The Seymour Agency); Mentor of the Year: Allison Pittman; and Member Service Award: Jeanne Marie Leach.

ACFW also announced the winners of its 2012 Genesis Contest for unpublished Christian writers, which had nearly 700 entries this year. Click here for the full list of winners.