Christian Retailing

InterVarsity Press wins Theologos Awards Print Email
Written by Eric Tiansay   
Thursday, 11 March 2010 03:34 PM America/New_York

The Association of Theological Booksellers (ATB), an organization of diverse theological bookstores and publishers, announced this week the winners of the 2009 Theologos Awards, with InterVarsity Press (IVP) making the strongest showing.

Named Publisher of the Year, IVP also won the Best Academic Book category for Justification: God's Plan and Paul's Vision by N.T. Wright. Baker Publishing Group was also named Publisher of the Year--the second year in a row it was recognized with the award.

Feasting on the Word: Year B edited by David L. Bartlett and Barbara Brown Taylor (Westminster John Knox Press) won in the Book of the Year category, while A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald Miller (Thomas Nelson) was recognized as the Best General Interest Book.

Listen to the Wind: The Story of Dr. Greg and Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and Susan L. Roth (Dial Books for Young Readers/Penguin Young Readers Group) won Best Children's Book.

Given annually by the booksellers association, the awards represent the professional evaluations of people who sell academic religious books. Only ATB bookseller members are eligible to vote.