Christian Retailing

Max Lucado receives 2021 ECPA Pinnacle Award Print Email
Thursday, 05 August 2021 04:56 PM America/New_York

 Max LucadoBestselling author and pastor Max Lucado was recently awarded the 2021 Evangelical Christian Publishers Association Pinnacle Award for the outstanding contribution of his writing, both to the publishing industry and to society at large.

Lucado is only the fourth recipient of this honor, which recognizes the outstanding contribution by an author or book. It was presented at the ECPA Awards Celebration on May 6 via webinar at the conclusion of the ECPA Leadership Summit.

Lucado’s career highlights are unprecedented in Christian publishing, with his products exceeding sales of 145 million. His books are printed in 45 languages and distributed throughout 80 countries worldwide. On the Anvil, his first trade book, was published in 1985. His forthcoming title, You Were Made for This Moment, will release in September 2021 from Thomas Nelson. Twenty-three of his titles have sold more than 1 million copies.

“It is such an honor for ECPA to present the Pinnacle Award to Max Lucado,” said ECPA President Stan Jantz. “I was a bookseller in 1985, and I clearly remember when our store received On the Anvil for the first time. The accessibility of the writing and the clear expression of the heart of someone who loved Jesus more than anything were early indicators that this was a special author.”

“It is an honor for HarperCollins Christian Publishing to represent Max and his collection of life-changing, God-centered works for the past 31 years,” said Mark Schoenwald, president and CEO. “God’s grace, mercy and unconditional love has been discovered by millions of people because of Max’s devotion and love for his Lord and Savior. I join my colleagues at HCCP and the publishing industry in offering our sincerest thanks for his many contributions and congratulations on this amazing recognition.”

Past recipients of the ECPA Pinnacle Award include Stormie Omartian (Power of a Praying series), Dr. Gary Chapman (The 5 Love Languages series) and Jerry Jenkins and Tim LaHaye (Left Behind series). CR