Christian Retailing

Jerry B. Jenkins honored Print Email
Written by Christine D. Johnson   
Thursday, 07 August 2014 03:58 PM America/New_York

Logos bookstore association honors author J.I. Packer

JerryBJenkins-AWSAJerry B. Jenkins took home the Lifetime Achievement Award Sunday afternoon at the Advanced Writers and Speakers Association (AWSA, 2014 Golden Scroll Awards. Jenkins, who also was keynote speaker, received a standing ovation at the event, one of many awards presentations at the International Christian Retail Show (ICRS) this year in Atlanta.

In the Nonfiction Book of the Year category, Wounded Women of the Bible by Dena Dyer and Tina Samples (Kregel Publications) and Unexpected Love by Julie Zine Coleman (Thomas Nelson) tied for first. In Fiction, Eva Marie Everson’s Slow Moon Rising (Revell/Baker Publishing Group) tied for first place Novel of the Year with C.W. Shutter’s The Ohana (River Ranch Publishing).

Abingdon Press was named Publisher of the Year, while Tyndale House Publishers’ Katara Patton was honored as Nonfiction Editor of the Year and Stephanie Boene for Fiction Editor of the Year.

AWSA also recognized Arlene Pellicane as Member of the Year, and best-selling author Kathi Macias presented the Beyond Me award to Grace Fox for exemplifying the heart of Christ through her outreach.

The Christian Authors Network (CAN, also presented its awards during the AWSA event. The CAN Nonfiction Book of the Year first-place award went to Kathy Collard Miller for Partly Cloudy with Scattered Worries (Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas), and Ruchti picked up her second award of the day (after taking second place Golden Scroll for Nonfiction) as the CAN Novel of the Year first-place winner for All My Belongings (Abingdon Press).

Author Cynthia Ruchti of the American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW, announced the finalists in 11 Carol Awards categories. Carol Johnson, the pioneer editor for whom the award is named, opened the news conference. The group’s CEO, author Colleen Coble, announced Robin Lee Hatcher as the ACFW Lifetime Achievement Award recipient.

The Carol Award winners will be presented during the 2014 ACFW National Conference in St. Louis at the Sept. 27 gala.

The Association of Logos Bookstores ( presented its Book of the Year winners at a Saturday evening store event. Becky Gorczyca, executive director of the retail group, presented the awards.

Author of the Year—chosen for the writer whose body of work exemplifies the power of books to change lives forever—went to J.I. Packer. Category book winners were: Fiction: The Auschwitz Escape by Joel C. Rosenberg (Tyndale House Publishers); Christian Living: The Question That Never Goes Away by Philip Yancey (Zondervan); Christianity/Culture: The Global Public Square by Os Guinness (InterVarsity Press); Theology, Doctrine, Reference: To Live Is Christ, To Die Is Gain by Matt Chandler with Jared C. Wilson (David C Cook); Spirituality, Devotional: Living in Christ’s Presence by Dallas Willard (InterVarsity Press); Youth: Hot Chocolate With God Devotional by Camryn Kelly with Jill and Erin Kelly (FaithWords); and Children’s Picture Books: My Mama & Me by Crystal Bowman and Teri McKinley. —Johnson