Christian Retailing

Gospel Music Association honors Hall of Fame inductees Print Email
Written by Jeremy Burns   
Wednesday, 14 May 2014 08:40 AM America/New_York

Brown Bannister, Gaither Vocal Band noted as making ‘definitive mark on the fabric of our musical tapestry’

GMAHallOfFameThe Gospel Music Association (GMA) Foundation recognized key industry figures as this year’s Hall of Fame inductees and honorees at the Hall of Fame induction and inaugural GMA Honors celebration. Held April 29 at Lipscomb University’s Allen Arena in Nashville, the ceremony featured Hall of Fame inductees, including Brown Bannister, Gaither Vocal Band, Rich Mullins and Take 6, as well as Honors recipients such as Dr. Bobby Jones, Don Moen, Michael Guido, Show Hope and World Vision.

“We’re excited about this opportunity to raise awareness for the legacy of gospel music,” said GMA Executive Director Jackie Patillo before the event. “Each of these inductees or honorees has made a definitive mark on the fabric of our musical tapestry.” 

Take 6 was featured in a special performance with all members of the group, past and present, for the first time ever as a celebration of the group’s 25th anniversary and of its induction. Other special guests included dcTalk (TobyMac, Michael Tait and Kevin Max), Steven Curtis Chapman, Amy Grant, Michael W. Smith, David Crowder, Earnest Pugh, Ellie Bannister Holcomb, Kirk Whalum and Lenny LeBlanc. Jay Sekulow, chief counsel of the American Center for Law and Justice, talk show personality and FOX News commentator  hosted the evening’s program.

“While each [inductee and honoree] has different gifts and has contributed in different ways, all of their stories highlight God’s faithfulness,” Patillo added. “We’ll be able to celebrate this through GMA Honors with some very special friends and truly inspiring performances.”

Love Your Country. Vote. Faith, Family and Freedom Tour was this year’s presenting sponsor.