Christian Retailing

Christian Small Publisher book award winners emerge from ‘competitive’ slate Print Email
Written by Jeremy Burns   
Tuesday, 22 April 2014 05:27 PM America/New_York

CSPA-webThe results are in for the 2014 Christian Small Publisher Book of the Year Awards, with 14 books being honored in 12 categories. Sponsored by the Christian Small Publisher Association (CSPA), the awards honor books produced by small publishers each year for outstanding contribution to Christian life.

“This year the voting was very competitive,” CSPA Director Sarah Bolme said. “Two categories had ties for first place—a first for the Book of the Year Award.”

A total of 108 titles were nominated, on which retailers and readers voted on the nominated titles in each of twelve categories.

The winners are Fiction: Thirty Days to Glory, Kathy Nickerson (CrossRiver Media Group); Romance: Shenandoah Nights, Lisa Belcastro (OakTara); Christian Living (tie): A Bead and a Prayer, Kristen E. Vincent (Upper Room Books), and Life's A Pain: Journeying By Faith When Every Step Hurts, Todd Rettberg (CrossLink Publishing); Bible Study/Theology: The Epic of God, Michael Whitworth (Start2Finish Books); Devotional: This I Know, Toby Holsinger (CrossRiver Media Group); Biography/Memoir (tie): SuperGal vs. GOD, Lori Hynson (Broken Shoe Press), and Crossfire: The Life of Chuck Svoboda, a Foot-Soldier in God's Army David J. Bauer (Grace Acres Press); Relationships/Family: 25 Ways to Communicate Respect to Your Husband, Jennifer L Flanders (Prescott Publishing); Children’s (age 4 to 8): The Potter, Cindy Starr Stewart (Carpenter's Son); Children’s (age 8 to 12): Where the River Rises, Rosie Boom (Boom Tree Publishing); Young Adult (age 12+): A Cry From Egypt, Hope Auer (Great Waters Press); Gift Book: 101 Surprises! Sayings with Scriptures You Didn’t See Coming, Wilma Shepard Caraway (Fruitbearer Publishing); and e-book Exclusive: Subject Your Flesh, Beyr Reyes (ShadeTree Publishing).

For more information on the awards, visit