Christian Retailing

ACFW presents Francine Rivers with top honor Print Email
Written by Taylor Berglund   
Monday, 21 September 2015 11:29 AM America/New_York

FrancineRivers-webAmerican Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) honored best-selling author Francine Rivers with the 2015 Lifetime Achievement Award at the ACFW Awards Gala. Many other Christian writers, editors and agents also were honored at the gala, held Saturday evening, Sept. 19 at the Hyatt Regency Dallas/Fort Worth.

“Few people have had the kind of impact that Francine Rivers has had through her Christian fiction," said ACFW CEO Coleen Coble. "Many readers mark her books as spiritual turning points in their lives.”

Coble appreciated the opportunity to celebrate excellence in the industry.

“The ACFW awards—both for writing excellence and for outstanding service to the writing community—spotlight those among many who are making a difference through the way they live for Christ as well as their role in the Christian publishing world,” Coble said. “It is ACFW’s great privilege to honor these individuals through the recognitions they receive.”

Notable award winners at the gala included Mary Sue Seymour (Agent of the Year; The Seymour Agency), Sandie Bricker (Editor of the Year; Bling!/Lighthouse Publishing of the Carolinas), Joy Avery Melville (Mentor of the Year), Lacy Williams (Volunteer Service Award) and Michael Ehret (Member Service Award).

Carol Award and Genesis Contest winners also were announced. Carol Awards go to the best in Christian fiction published in the previous calendar year. Winners included Lisa Wingate's The Story Keeper (Tyndale House Publishers) in the Contemporary category and Irene Hannon's Second Chance Summer (Love Inspired/Harlequin) in the Short Novel category. The full list of Carol Award winners is available here.

The Genesis Contest recognizes excellence in unpublished manuscripts. Visit ACFW’s website for the Genesis winners.

Contests Administrator Becky Yauger explained the derivation of the name Carol Awards.

“ACFW is proud to honor its namesake, Carol Johnson, each time the award is given,” said Yauger. “We want readers to know they’re finding quality books when they pick up a Carol Award-nominated or winning book.”